Support Us
Transportation Awards - California Transportation Foundation

Transportation Awards

32nd Annual CTF Transportation Awards Program

Thursday, May 27, 2021 from 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. on Zoom

Recognizing California Transportation Achievement in 2020

Thank You to Our CTF Legacy Sponsors for supporting the CTF Transportation Awards!

Take a Look at last year’s CTF Transportation Award Winners

“Congratulations to the people and organizations who were chosen by the Awards jury for recognition at the CTF Transportation Awards. The jury selected the best in 2019 transportation projects, programs, people and organizations,” said Ryan Chamberlain, 2020 Chair of CTF.

CTF Congratulates the Transportation Award Winners!

Elected Official of the Year

Hon. Jim Frazier

Project of the Year

Shasta Viaduct

Caltrans; Golden State Bridge, Inc.; Pacific Coast Drilling Contractors; Union Pacific Rail Road

Lifetime Achievement Award

Joseph Tavaglione, CTC Commissioner

Person of the Year

Hon. Scott Haggerty

Alameda County Supervisor

Organization of the Year


$5,000 CTF Partnered ITS/CA Scholarship Recipient

Soomin Woo, Civil Engineering, UC Berkeley

“I am extremely honored to receive this scholarship. It will accelerate my study in California, in help of leading the research on future vehicles.”

$1,000 CTF Scholarship in Honor of the CTC Recipient

Flore Mountsambote, Urban Studies, Transportation Planning, UC Berkeley

“As a first generation college student finance can be a barrier to higher education. This scholarship is the first step towards saving up for a master program to continue investing in my education and giving back to the community.”

Caltrans Management & Engineering in Transportation Award Winners

             Read Bio                         Read Bio                    Read Bio                    Read Bio

Caltrans Director Congratulates Management & Engineering Awardees

CTF Congratulates the Winners in 13 Categories!

Freeway/Expressway Project of the Year

• San Ysidro Land Port of Entry Phase 3

U.S. General Services Administration; U.S. Customs and Border Protection; Magnusson Klemencic Associates; Atkinson/Clark a Joint Venture; The Miller Hull Partnership, LLP

Pedestrian/Bicycle Project of the Year

• Downtown Bridges and Trail Project

City of Roseville; Mark Thomas; Fehr & Peers; ICF International; NV5-The Hanna Group; MCM Construction, Inc.; Parikh Consultants, Inc.; Callander Associates and Landscape Architects

Local Street Project of the Year

• McHenry Ave. Corridor Improvements

San Joaquin County Public Works; San Joaquin County; Stanislaus County; AECOM; MNS Engineers, Inc.; Myers & Sons Construction LP; AIM Consulting

Interchange Project of the Year

• U.S. 101/Willow Road Interchange Reconstruction

Caltrans District 4; San Mateo County Transportation Authority; C/CAG

Organized Research Program of the Year

• What’s Behind Recent Transit Ridership Trends in the Bay Area?

UCLA Institute of Transportation Studies; Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Transit/Rail Project of the Year

• San Elijo Lagoon Double Track Project

Caltrans District 11; SANDAG; North County Transit District; HDR Engineering Inc.; Flatiron – Skanska – Stacy – Witbeck (FSSW)

Public Outreach Program of the Year

• Chase Center Transportation Communications Plan

San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency; Golden State Warriors; San Francisco Mayor’s Office

Conventional State Highway Project of the Year

• I-80/SR 65 Interchange Project – Phase 1

Placer County Transportation Planning Agency; Caltrans District 3; Jacobs; ICF International; Flatiron Construction; AIM Consulting

Sustainable/Environmental Enhancement Program of the Year

• Repave Oakland: 2019 3-Year Paving Plan

Oakland Department of Transportation

Structure Project of the Year

• Gilman Drive Bridge

SANDAG; Caltrans District 11; UCSD; Moffatt and Nichol; Safdie Rabines Architects; Mid-Coast Transit Constructors

Operational Efficiency Program of the Year

• Operational Efficiency Through Enhanced Traffic Control Devices

Caltrans HQ

Emergency Response/Repair Project of the Year

• SR 192 Montecito Mudslide Bridge Repair

Caltrans District 5; Security Paving; Southern California Gas Transmission


Advanced Technology Program of the Year

• SR-237 Express Lanes Phase 2 Project

Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority; Hill International, Inc.; Caltrans District 4; Mark Thomas; Mott MacDonald; FBD Vanguard Construction, Inc.; TransCore